Travel Tuesday – Portrait of a Rajasthani Man

If you travel to Rajasthan, you’ll see most men sporting a moustache and some also with beards. Topped with a turban in the style shown below, one can easily recognize someone from Rajasthan (particularly the Marwar region) versus other parts of India. (I’m not saying that everyone is wearing a turban all the time 😀!). I wasn’t bold enough to click pictures of people on the street, but then I could capture this mural in Jodhpur on the way to the airport!

Big Moustaches are common in Rajasthan

For weekly prompts colour challenge and one word sunday, along with Cee’s CFFC.

In this blog, I focus on sharing some of the photographs that I capture, often during my travels but also in the everyday life. If you’d like to read about my travels, you can find the stories on this blog – Reflections on the River.

12 replies to “Travel Tuesday – Portrait of a Rajasthani Man

      1. I knew the Punjab had the largest number of Sikhs, and I read that Rajasthan had the next largest number in India, approximately half of the number living in the Punjab.

        I’ve seen a couple of Sikh turban styles worn by people I know , but I didn’t realise a different style of turban was worn by non-Sikhs. Thank you for telling me, I’ve learnt something today.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh recently I asked a model who was at a palace for a photo shoot with a group! She agreed and I got a nice pic. But she was a pro. Most regular folks get conscious when asked for a picture, and then I don’t manage to get a good photo.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star