Red as an Apple

I remember that when one of my cousin’s daughter was born, everyone remarked about how she had rosy cheeks, comparing them to the apples from Kashmir! (For those who don’t know, here’s a tidbit – in India, apples grow in the mountains as the plains are too hot for them.)

Funnily, I don’t have any images of Apples – despite seeing them all over the place in Germany. But then I have a few other things with the same red lusciousness.

For instance, I came across this display of beautiful desserts with strawberries and red glaze and had to click!

Who can resist that? Only someone with allergies..

I was walking around the markets with fresh produce in Thessaloniki and came across these luscious cherries. There is a tree in my office campus, and I loved plucking the cherries there, provided I was there at the right time – one day it is too early to pick and another day they’re gone because I am not the only fan!

Cherries – one of my favorite fruits

In the second year of Covid, I became a bit of a “farmer”. Having no travels in sight, I planted seeds in my garden and watched the plants grow. And out came the tomatoes, corriander and some chilies. Did you know that tomatoes were called Pomme d’Amour (Love Apple) by the French initially, when these beauties came to Europe from South America for the first time in the 15th century?

Tomato – can’t imagine some of my favorite dishes without it!

Then there are these beautiful things called Rosehips – the seed pods of some varieties of roses. I once had a doughnut filled with a Rosehip jelly during Carnival time – traditional in Germany! They look like berries but I’ve never seen any birds snacking on them..

A beautiful Rosehip

For Cee’s Fun Photo challenge.

9 replies to “Red as an Apple

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star